2x4 2x6 lumber, is it available in Isaan?

Amnat Charoen, Buriram, Chaiyaphum, Kalasin, Khon Kaen, Loei, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Nakhon Ratchasima (Korat), Nongbua Lamphu, Nong Khai, Roi Et, Sakon Nakhon, Sisaket, Surin, Ubon Ratchathani, Udon Thani, Yasothon

Moderators: Sometimewoodworker, MGV12, BKKBILL

2x4 2x6 lumber, is it available in Isaan?

Postby sirineou » Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:23 am

By trade I Am a carpenter, I currently work in the concrete form field, in New York, specializing in site safety management, and very very long ago I have worked as a framing carpenter and have owned a residential fence company, so I am familiar working with US standard nominal size lumber, 2x4x8 ft 2x4x 10 – 16 2x6 plywood at 4x8 ft etc. when I was in the Khon kaen area last week , I looked at some of The home material stores to familiarize my self with what is available, but I did not see any lumber. Where does some one get lumber, are soft woods like yellow pine, Doug fir, available, what is available? how about galvanized metal studs? To those of you from the US , and I am not sure about Europe, you will know what I mean. Plan to move there soon and I am trying to educate my self , sorry if my questions sound stupid or naive . Love this forum and all the great info in it.

Thank you
I talk to my self because I am the only one who will listen
sirineou

Re: 2x4 2x6 lumber, is it available in Isaan?

Postby dozer » Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:41 am